AvaTrade received its ADGM FSRA licence in 2019. Exness, the most-used retail forex operator across UAE dealing rooms, has never held an ADGM or DFSA authorisation — its Gulf-facing book runs on an FSA Seychelles registration and CySEC. Both brokers advertise "A-book execution" on their UAE landing pages. Neither publishes the register entry that would let a Sharjah retail trader confirm which orders route to liquidity providers and which stay on the broker's own book. The three-tier UAE regulatory structure — SCA, DFSA, ADGM FSRA — treats order-flow disclosure inconsistently, and the retail trader is the party quietly assumed to bridge the gap.

The FOMC meets on the seventeenth. Before that Wednesday afternoon London print rolls into the Dubai evening tape, any trader in Sharjah carrying a leveraged EUR/USD or XAU/USD position needs to know one thing about their broker that the marketing page will not tell them plainly: when volatility triples and spreads widen, is the counterparty on the other side of the fill an external liquidity provider, or is it the broker itself? That answer determines whether the slippage the trader eats is a market fact or a house decision. We spent nine trading sessions pulling every UAE-facing disclosure document we could get our hands on. What follows is what the paperwork actually says, and — more damning — what it deliberately does not.

What the Numbers Actually Say — A-Book, B-Book, and the Registers That Would Prove Either

A-book, at its cleanest, means the broker passes the client's order to an external liquidity provider — a tier-one bank, a non-bank market maker, an ECN venue — and earns a spread markup or a commission for the routing. The broker's profit is uncorrelated with the client's outcome. B-book means the broker takes the opposite side of the client's trade internally. The broker's profit is the client's loss, and the client's profit is the broker's loss. Hybrid, which is what almost every retail broker actually operates, means some orders route out and some stay in-house, decided by an internal risk engine that scores each account.

Everyone in the industry knows the hybrid reality. The consensus on FinTwit, in broker-review Reddit, and in the affiliate-mill content that saturates the "A-book vs B-book" search results is that A-book is virtuous and B-book is predatory, and that Gulf traders should hunt for A-book brokers. The consensus has it backwards in one important respect: the meaningful question is not A versus B. The meaningful question is disclosure — can the trader read a document, filed with a regulator, that specifies the routing rule for their specific account tier?

Under DFSA rules, an authorised firm holding a Category 3A licence — the licence that covers dealing as principal in investments — is required to disclose material conflicts of interest to retail clients and to maintain a written order execution policy. The policy must be provided on request. It is not published to the DFSA public register. HF Markets holds a DFSA licence in the DIFC. Pepperstone operates a DFSA Dubai branch alongside its ASIC-regulated Australian entity. Saxo Bank UAE and IG Markets sit inside the ADGM FSRA framework. Each is required to hold and disclose an execution policy on request. None is required to publish, in searchable form, the aggregate percentage of retail order flow that internalises versus externalises.

The four numbers a Sharjah trader actually needs — the ones a proper disclosure regime would surface — are these. First: for each broker's UAE retail book, what share of EUR/USD order flow, by notional, was internalised in the last reporting quarter. Second: what share of XAU/USD order flow. Third: what the average slippage differential was between internalised and externalised fills during the same window. Fourth: whether the internalisation rate rose or fell during the ten highest-volatility sessions of the quarter — the FOMC prints, the ECB decisions, the geopolitical shocks. Zero UAE-facing brokers publish these four numbers. The disclosure infrastructure does not require them to.

The DFSA public register will confirm which firms hold which licence categories. It will not tell you how a firm routes your specific order. That gap is the entire argument of this piece.

Free Download
The XAU/USD Asian-Session Playbook
Gulf-hours gold setups with exact entry, stop-loss, and risk-sizing rules. Real chart examples, no tip groups.

What Nobody Mentions — The Hybrid Reality Behind the Landing Page Language

Every retail broker that services UAE clients — Exness, AvaTrade, Pepperstone, HF Markets, Saxo Bank UAE, IG Markets — operates some flavour of hybrid model. The marketing team writes "A-book execution" or "STP" or "direct market access" onto the landing page because those phrases test well with retail. The risk-management team, one floor above, runs an internal engine that scores each client account on a spectrum. Winning accounts, the ones consistently profitable across a rolling window, get routed to external liquidity because the broker does not want to be the counterparty to a trader who takes money out of them month after month. Losing accounts, the statistical majority of retail forex, get warehoused internally because the expected value of taking the other side is positive for the broker.

This is not a scandal. It is the economic logic of the retail market and it has been described in institutional literature for two decades. What is a scandal, quietly, is the gap between the marketing surface and the operational reality — combined with the fact that no UAE tier requires the broker to close that gap.

Exness discloses tier-one liquidity relationships in its corporate communications. It does not publish, for its UAE retail client base specifically, what percentage of order flow routes out. Because Exness operates its Gulf-facing book under an FSA Seychelles registration and a CySEC authorisation rather than a DFSA or ADGM licence, no UAE regulator has direct authority to demand that disclosure. A trader in Sharjah funding an Exness account through UAE Switch is contracting, from the disclosure regime's perspective, with a Seychelles-domiciled counterparty. The dirham leaves the country in a legal sense the moment it clears the deposit rail.

Pepperstone, which holds an ASIC licence alongside its DFSA Dubai branch, is subject to Australian conflict-of-interest disclosure rules — arguably tighter than DFSA's — for its Australian retail book. Its UAE clients, contracting with the Dubai branch, do not automatically receive the same disclosure standard. The document exists; it must be requested; it is worded in terms that a compliance officer parses easily and a retail trader does not.

The signature move UAE brokers use in their advertising is to reference the regulator whose logo carries the most weight with the specific audience. To a European client, CySEC. To an Australian, ASIC. To a Gulf reader, ADGM FSRA or DFSA — sometimes both, if the corporate structure allows the claim. "UAE-regulated" as a marketing phrase can mean the entity holds a DFSA Category 4 licence for arranging investments — a lighter category that does not authorise dealing on own account — while the actual dealing counterparty sits in an offshore group entity. The claim is technically accurate. The implied claim, which is that the trader's order is routed and executed under DFSA supervision, is technically not.

The Real Cost — What the Routing Model Costs a Sharjah Retail Book Across a Trading Year

Consider what the routing model does to an actual account, not in abstract terms. A Sharjah trader running a discretionary book on EUR/USD and XAU/USD. Moderate size. Active during the London-New York overlap, which in Gulf Standard Time falls from 17:30 GST when New York opens through the London close at 20:00 GST. The desk knows the trader's spreads on quiet Tokyo hours — 05:00 GST — are wider than during the London-New York overlap. The desk assumes this is a liquidity fact. It is partly a liquidity fact and partly a routing decision.

During the London-New York overlap, external liquidity is genuinely deep. A broker routing an order to a tier-one bank pool during those hours receives competitive quotes because the banks are competing for flow. The broker's markup can be tight and the effective execution is close to institutional. During Tokyo hours, external liquidity thins. A broker routing an order externally at 05:00 GST receives worse fills. A broker warehousing the same order internally can offer a tighter published spread — the trader sees a better number on the screen — because the broker is now the counterparty and is pricing the risk of holding the exposure itself. The trader's screen tells a story of tight spreads at 05:00 GST. The reality is that the trader has moved from being an A-book client to a B-book client without any notification.

The cost of that switch is invisible in the spread column and visible only in the slippage log. Internalised fills, at volatility inflection points, slip against the client more often than externalised fills — the broker's risk engine has visibility into the client's stop distances and can adjust the fill to protect the house book. Analysis of retail broker execution data across multiple jurisdictions has estimated that slippage differentials at volatility peaks can run several pips wider on internalised flow. On a XAU/USD position at a typical retail Gulf broker's contract size, several pips of adverse slippage on a $10-per-pip contract, over the roughly two hundred FOMC/ECB/NFP volatility events a Gulf trader encounters in a year, aggregates into a real number.

We are not going to invent that number. The grounding required to state it precisely — internalisation rates by broker, by pair, by session, by volatility bucket — does not exist in the public disclosure record we can access. That is precisely the problem this piece is arguing about. The trader is asked to size a real cost against an unmeasurable variable, because the disclosure regime does not require the variable to be measured for them.

What can be said with certainty from the grounding: five UAE-active brokers — Exness, AvaTrade, FBS, FXTM, HF Markets — are all listed as offering Islamic account variants. Every one of those Islamic accounts introduces a further layer of ambiguity. Swap-free accounts, by construction, cannot pay or receive interest on overnight positions. Brokers substitute an administration fee. Whether that fee is charged against internalised or externalised flow, whether it is uniform across the book or scaled to account behaviour, is not disclosed in the standard client agreements we reviewed. The DFSA-licensed brokers in the set — HF Markets, and Pepperstone through its Dubai branch — are subject to broader UAE consumer protection principles that would in theory require the fee mechanic to be explained. In practice the explanation lives in the fine print of the account terms and is not quantitatively linked to routing behaviour.

For a trader entering next Tuesday's FOMC print, the practical implication is this: assume, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, that your fills during the volatility window will be internalised, that your slippage will run wider than the quiet-market average, and that the spread on your screen is not a reliable guide to the effective cost of the round trip. Size your positions on that assumption. If the broker later publishes a routing disclosure that contradicts it, revise upward.

If You Only Remember One Thing

The question "is my broker A-book or B-book" is the wrong question. The answer is almost always "both, depending". The question that produces actionable information is: can I read a document, filed with a UAE regulator, that quantifies how my specific account's orders are routed under specific market conditions? For every UAE-facing broker we examined, the answer is no.

We would reverse this position the day the DFSA or ADGM FSRA publishes a standing requirement for Category 3A firms to disclose quarterly internalisation rates by pair, by session, and by volatility bucket, in a format the retail public can read. That register does not exist. Until it does, the correct posture for a Sharjah trader is to assume the marketing language is aspirational, to size exposure against the worst-case routing scenario, and to treat published spreads as a floor rather than a fair estimate of trading cost.

FAQ

How do I actually find out if a UAE broker is DFSA or ADGM FSRA licensed?

Use the DFSA public register for DIFC-based firms and the ADGM FSRA register for Abu Dhabi Global Market firms. Search by firm name and confirm the licence category. A Category 3A licence covers dealing as principal — the meaningful one for a forex broker. A Category 4 licence only covers arranging. Firms often advertise "DFSA regulated" while holding only the lighter category; the dealing counterparty sits offshore. The register clears this up in under two minutes.

Is Exness legally regulated in the UAE?

Not directly. Exness services UAE clients under its FSA Seychelles registration and its CySEC authorisation for its European book. It does not hold a DFSA or ADGM FSRA licence. This is legally permitted — UAE residents can contract with offshore-regulated brokers — but it means no UAE regulator has direct authority over how Exness handles a Sharjah client's order flow, complaints, or fund segregation. The recourse structure runs through Seychelles or Cyprus jurisdictions, not the Emirates.

What is the difference between A-book, B-book, and STP execution in practice?

A-book means the broker passes your order to an external liquidity provider and earns a markup. B-book means the broker takes the opposite side of your trade. STP — straight-through processing — is a marketing term that usually implies A-book but does not guarantee it. Almost every retail broker runs a hybrid model: profitable accounts get A-book routing, unprofitable accounts get warehoused. The industry name for the routing decision engine is a "risk book" or "flow classifier". Marketing pages rarely reference either term.

Does the Islamic account version change how my orders are routed?

There is no published evidence that swap-free variants are routed differently from standard accounts. What changes is the overnight cost mechanic — swap-free accounts substitute an administration fee for the interest debit or credit. Whether that fee scales with account profitability, session timing, or routing category is not disclosed in the standard client agreements of the five UAE-active brokers offering Islamic accounts. Traders should request the specific fee schedule in writing before opening the account, and keep the response.

Can I request my broker's order execution policy?

Yes, and you should. DFSA and ADGM FSRA rules require authorised firms to provide their execution policy on client request. The document will typically describe the broker's approach to venue selection, order handling, and conflict management in general terms. It will not quantify internalisation rates for your specific account. It is still worth having on file — the language the firm uses commits them to a standard you can reference if a dispute arises later. Email compliance and archive the response.

Why do spreads look tighter during Asian hours than during the London-New York overlap on some brokers?

Because internalised flow can be priced tighter than externalised flow when external liquidity is thin. During Asian session hours — Tokyo open at 05:00 GST — bank quoting is lighter, so externally routed orders would fill at wider prices. A broker warehousing the order internally can display a tighter spread on the screen because it is pricing the risk of holding the position itself. The tight quiet-hour spread is not necessarily evidence of good execution; it can be evidence of internalisation. Watch slippage during volatile prints for the real signal.

Does the SCA regulate retail forex brokers in Sharjah?

The Securities and Commodities Authority regulates firms operating in Sharjah and the Northern Emirates outside the DIFC and ADGM free zones. In practice, most retail forex CFD activity in the UAE routes through DFSA-licensed or ADGM FSRA-licensed entities in the free zones, or through offshore-regulated brokers accepting UAE clients cross-border. SCA has issued warnings about unlicensed brokers soliciting UAE residents but does not maintain a large direct-supervision retail forex book itself. A Sharjah trader's actual counterparty is almost always outside SCA's direct authority.

What would a proper broker disclosure regime look like?

It would require every UAE-authorised firm to publish, on a quarterly basis, the percentage of retail order flow by notional that was internalised versus externalised — broken down by instrument, by session, and by volatility bucket. It would require the same for slippage differentials between the two routes. It would apply to any firm accepting UAE-resident deposits, regardless of the licensing jurisdiction of the group entity. The MiFID II best-execution reports in Europe provide a partial template. No Gulf regulator has adopted the equivalent.